Logo Utrecht University

Utrecht Seismology


Education in seismology

Seismology is mainly taught at the Masters level. If you are interested in studying Seismology at Utrecht University, we recommend that you first obtain a Bachelors degree in Physics, preferentially with a Minor in Earth Sciences. An alternative is a Bachelors degree in Earth Sciences with a minor in Physics.

For general information about our Masters program, click here or here.

Masters courses taught by seismology faculty:

  • Theoretical Seismology
  • Data Processing and Inverse Theory
  • Applied Geophysics
  • Structure and Composition of the Earth’s Interior

Bachelor classes taught by the seismology faculty:

  • Introduction to Seismology and Seismics
  • Linear Algebra and Vector Analysis
  • Differential equations in Earth Sciences
  • Programming and Modelling